So after losing 15 Rifters and 3 Thrashers I finally managed to find some poor sod young enough for me to solo kill.  I got so excited that I forgot about all morality and bagged the pod as well.  It was a case of the usual roam around low sec when a Punisher was spotted on scan in Arzad.  After narrowing the ship down to a belt it was a case of warping in at range to get a look at the pilot.  Andros Acami, four days into the game.  Yes! Finally, someone to shoot at that one had a reasonable  chance to kill! The problem was getting to him before some other git did.

😉

Then, frustration, burning towards him and he warped off to the next belt. Damn!  Why oh why didn’t I have a 74km Warp Scrambler!  Doesn’t he know that I haven’t killed shit for months?  All I need is for the we fecker to stay still long enough for me to bag the kill.  I was after him, we warped around the system from belt to belt.  I knew that he didn’t know much because he kept warping in at zero.  Then I lost him.  Nooooooo!  How the feck could I lose a four day old noob!

The search for Spock continued for the next five minutes.  I warped around the system, checking my scanner, he was moving around.  After ten minutes I narrowed him down to another belt.  Warped in, locked and this time got my web and scrambler up and running.  Then my Rifter “Rubber Donkey” (a tad juvenile I know) was onto him, the autocannons tearing through his shields, into his armour.  By the time he started shooting back he was deep into armour and a few seconds more into structure.

Booom!

What a pretty sight the explosion was.  I couldn’t stop myself locked up his pod and pop.  He was gone.  Then it occurred to me, I am supposed to be trying to earn ISK by ransoming.  “Bugger”.  I warped into a safe spot to wait for the GCC to pass.  Maybe I should convo him?  After all his ship had an awful fit and the fight was so uneven, he might pay me for advice, now I was all leet and shit. I also noted that podding someone means you don’t get that ‘gf’ thing in local, hmmm a bit disappointing.  GF is something we all have to do even if we just had our assess handed to us on a plate for the eighth time in a row.  I felt a bit bad. Like that time when I was a teenager and I knocked an ice cream out of a kids hand just to watch them cry.

The feeling lasted about a minute, I used distraction tactics. In order to make myself feel better I let AUTOZ know I had finally bagged that first solo kill in a ‘cat that got the cream kind of way’.  I posted the kill mails and sat and thought about it.  Now I know what people were thinking when I first started flying around low sec a few months ago.  There is no doubt that all the people I have fought cut through me in the same way that I had cut through Andros. It was a sobering thought.  Checking the combat logs confirmed this.  I managed to hit him for between 150-340 damage he was hitting for 28-34, this is exactly the same damage I was doing back then. I went through 10 rifters before I figured out what was wrong.  Damn I am a slow learner.  I was also a gift wrapped kill back then.

It was an easy kill but it is small first step.  My first step into PvP with a small dash of moral depravity to go with it.  The bad feelings will go away eventually.  Andros Acami has gone away too.  :-/

